The 'Port Road' was the direct route between Dumfries and Stranraer Harbour via Castle Douglas and Newton Stewart. Construction began in 1856 between Dumfries and Castle Douglas, with the extension to Stranraer and Port Patrick being completed in the early 1860s. For the first 21 years services were operated by the Caledonian Railway, with the London, Midland and Scottish Railway (LMS) then taking control until nationalization.
Operations on the Port Road included mixed goods and local passenger services, boat trains, and an express service between London Euston and Stranraer for ferry services to Ireland, which became known as the 'Northern Irishman' or the 'Paddy'. Despite serving these many purposes, the line was closed (along with many other British branch lines) as part of the Beeching closures on 14 June 1965.
The RailWorks Port Road expansion pack, accurately recreated by Keith Ross (developer of the RailWorks West Coast Mainline route) with some truly stunning landscapes, represents the line from Dumfries to Castle Douglas and Kirkcudbright in its final few months with Black 5 steam locomotives providing much of the motive power, and with diesel traction just being introduced.
Free roam - Castle Douglas
Free roam - Dalbeattie
Free roam - Dumfries
Free roam - Kirkcudbright
Stock Featured in the Port Road Expansion
No New Stock